The Breaks

Julietta Singh
AUD $19.99
9781914198007.jpg
Availability: Not Yet Published

'Learning to mother at the end of the world is an infinite toggle between wanting to make you feel safe and needing you to know that the earth and its inhabitants are facing a catastrophic crisis.'

In The Breaks, Julietta Singh pens a luminous and moving letter to her six year-old daughter about race, climate change, and inheritance.

At school, Singh's daughter is learning about history, society and culture but at home she must learn to challenge and interrogate these stories. As Singh and her daughter discuss subjects as wide-ranging and interconnected as race, the legacies of colonialism, queer family-making, mass consumption and climate catastrophe, their conversations reveal how our survival depends on breaking with the stories we've been told, and reimagining the world for the better.

Working in the tradition of James Baldwin, Ta-Nehisi Coates and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, and bringing us right up to the present day, Singh presents an intimate and remarkable vision of present collapse and future possibility.

Author bio:

Julietta Singh is Associate Professor of English and Women,Gender, and Sexuality Studies at the University ofRichmond in Virginia. A writer and academic, she works at the intersections of postcolonial studies, feminist and queer theory, and the environmental humanities. She is the author of Unthinking Mastery: Dehumanism and Decolonial Entanglements and No Archive Will Restore You.

Category: Fiction
ISBN: 9781914198007
Publisher: Faber Factory
Imprint: Daunt Books
Pub Date: November 2021
Format: Paperback - B format
Subject: Fiction & related items